The Northeast

Today was our Managerial Accounting paper. I’m not sure how I should feel about it… it seems “do-able” but I have this naggy feeling that I have done some parts completely wrongly. It was also quite tricky and unfortunately I have been tricked by a minor trick in one question that left me quite disappointed (I was quite pleased that I had an answer for the question).

Regardless, as managerial accounts and economists will call the time spent on the paper as a “sunk cost”, we moved on with life. Since I think that there is enough studying for this week, Chelsea and I went out after the paper. Since I felt like getting to a place as far away from Kent Ridge as possible, I decided to spend some time and take the (sort of) trusty rapid transit system to Punggol Point! From the southwest to the northeast.

It was such a beautiful time to be Punggol Point. It was almost 5pm when we reached, so we were in good time to catch the sunset. And since it was all sunny and bright, my iPhone proved to be a point-and-shoot monster, taking shots that I thought were really impressive. But beyond that, it was really nice spending time with Chelsea after a stressful exam period (though it’s not over yet!). Eating ice cream, walking along the promenade by the sea, enjoying the cool breeze… it’s quite priceless. And such a beautiful contrast to the stillness, quietness, and tension found in the exam hall.

After spending a good hour or two at Punggol Point, taking snapshots and walking around (with our heavy bags… MacBook Pro in my bag, Accounting Info Systems textbook in hers – which got transferred into my bag midway), we headed back to the relatively less ulu Sengkang estate and took the LRT system in Sengkang for the first time! It’s so much cooler than the chunky system at Bukit Panjang. We reached Thanggam LRT station and walked over to Jalan Kayu for that “famous” prata shop (they self-proclaim to be so) where we had quite a nice and fulfilling dinner.

Then back to Compass Point for quick dessert and the relatively longer ride back to the west. (It is during the trip that I realise students living in Sengkang take such a long time to reach NUS, or worse, NTU…)

We spent a little more than six hours together, but it flew by quickly. No wonder time flies when you’re having fun.

Oh look, five more days before I finish my last exam as a first-year student.

 

Author: swee

A Singaporean student studying in University... making the best of every day (at least try!). Loves running, eating, and sometimes blogging.

One thought on “The Northeast”

Leave a comment