The Year 4 Feel

Taking a double degree programme forces you to be behind your cohort, sooner or later. Unless you decide to drop the second degree early, you’ll soon face a semester taking modules with your “juniors”. Intake year makes no sense anymore.

For accounting students, this is particularly painful thanks to the large number of projects involved in the higher-level modules. But that’s a problem for the next semester because I’m doing 100% FASS modules this semester!

This semester is exciting because I’m taking some (what I think) difficult economics modules, such as EC3102 (Macroeconomics II; difficult because I didn’t take EC2102), EC3303 (I’ve lost touch with statistics since… DSC1007, which was all the way in Year 1 Sem 2), and EC3312 (‘cos many reviews state how difficult the module is). I’m also doing my Field Service Project in one semester, so that will really amp up the intensity of the FSP. With all the MCs added up, I’m overloading this semester again!

It has been week 2 already, but thanks to the National Day holiday on Monday, I felt like I just finished a proper week of school. Frankly, it’s not much. Without tutorials I have a 2 day week (and with tutorials, 3 day week), to the envy of my youngest sister who’s still in JC (all in good time…). I’m also taking an exposure module this semester – NM1101E, the new media exposure module. Taking the mod with De Wei, fellow Year 4 and Acct DDP student, should be great.

The year 4 feel has definitely kicked in. Walking around school, thinking that we are the oldest undergrads in the school (with the exception of rare Year 5 students) really make you look at the wide-eyed freshmen with some sense of envy. And probably vice versa too – they probably look to us as the seniors who have battled the bell curve for 3 years already, and who are on the cusp of entering the next phase of life, when they are just starting out with university. Would really love to go back to those more energetic days. Hahahaha. (But please spare me the painful business core modules like leadership and business communication, yucks)

So Week 2 is underway. Semester promises to fly past quickly because of my lack of school days and FSP. Case in point: Tomorrow is my last day for the week. So Week 2 is almost over.

Undergrad life is ending sooner and sooner.

Author: swee

A Singaporean student studying in University... making the best of every day (at least try!). Loves running, eating, and sometimes blogging.

2 thoughts on “The Year 4 Feel”

Leave a comment