Volunteering at the ASEAN Para Games

It’s 9th December, the last day of the 8th ASEAN Para Games, the para equivalent to the SEA Games held in June earlier this year. This time round, there’s a lot less attention on the Games, which I felt to be a pity because I think more than the SEA Games, the Para Games truly reflect the common Games theme of “Celebrate the Extraordinary”.

This time round, however, I spent significantly more time watching and being involved in the APG as I signed up as a volunteer. Knowing that this could be my last time being involved in something like this, I enthusiastically signed up for this a little after the SEA Games concluded. Over time, as enthusiasm gathered for the APG, I was naturally excited for the games to start too. It’s also a good thing that my exams ended on the 2nd, so I could devote my time to APG from the 3rd to the 9th.

Other than the weekend, I was down at the National Stadium every day with many other volunteers, doing half-day shifts. Some days started as early as 6:30am, some ended as late as 9pm. I enjoyed myself tremendously nonetheless.

The things we do are mind-numbingly simple. Ushering people in, blocking off areas to ensure only accredited people are allowed through (surprisingly – for me at least – there are a few people who ‘act blur’ walking into the blocked areas), etc. There were many, many volunteers, so many that there was a lot of duplication of resources. I guess the good thing is that none of us are paid so there’s not much financial wastage.

However, what was really special was watching the para athletes up close, in action, in competition. We are lucky because sometimes we get to go up to the field of play to interact with them and see them compete. While Singapore is definitely no athletic powerhouse, it was inspiring to see para athletes in general perform things that are beyond what is expected of them.

To see para athletes do high jumps above 2 metres with just one leg – they literally hop over the pole – is simply inspiring. Likewise for blind athletes who sprint down the track… they don’t even know they have crossed the finish line first until their guide slows or stops completely.

And that’s just athletics. Similar, if not more, inspiring acts all around the Sports Hub and Marina Bay Sands over the last week.

Of course, I’ve met many volunteers from all walks of life that we’ve spent many hours watching the games together and talking over lunch. Many uncles, aunties and students, and each has a story to share. It’s very interesting.

I’m glad I signed up as a volunteer. While I signed up alone initially, getting to know others over time made Team Nila feel more like a family than just a group of disparate volunteers.

 

Author: swee

A Singaporean student studying in University... making the best of every day (at least try!). Loves running, eating, and sometimes blogging.

Leave a comment