Downtown Line

Exciting times this month continue with the opening of the Downtown Line 2 today. My family and I had already explored a little and got a sneak peek during the DTL2 Open House on 5th December, but nothing beats it actually opening.

As my dad commented a few days ago during our stroll around Beauty World, it would be rare to see the station shutters down for a prolonged period of time after it officially opens.

Beyond the cost savings during this 6-day period of free travel, what is more awesome is that the construction works are finally complete, and finally the area where I stay (near Beauty World MRT) is not as ulu as before.

Having a MRT station near one’s house may be something some have grown up with, and have grown accustomed to. But when there isn’t a MRT station within walking distance to your house, you would relish the convenience and speed of the train. Who cares about train disruptions when there’s no train to be disrupted?

Instead of worrying about last train timings, I used to worry about the last bus that I can take from the MRT station. And the nearest MRT station from my house would at least be a 15-minute bus ride away.

Today, my family travelled along the DTL down to Promenade to have lunch at Suntec. The time we took to get there was comparable to driving there. Likewise when we went home later from Rochor. It’s really hard to believe how fast the MRT is compared to other public transport alternatives after travelling up and down Bukit Timah Rd/Dunearn Rd for decades.

In the evening we took my grandparents out on the train – all the way to Chinatown. My grandpa was clearly impressed.

I’m glad that six years worth – since I was in JC2! – of construction is finally over. I can still remember feeling super excited when they announced the station alignments for DTL2 and that there was going to be a station at Beauty World. Then slowly, I witnessed the twisting road diversions, dust, slower traffic, and poor business for the shophouses affected by MRT construction. Then, as construction wound up, the roads became straight again, and the station entrances were built up. Things like escalators started to appear, then finally, the signages that announced “DT5 Beauty World”. (Then, the anxious wait for it to commence operations)

I was so happy (for the businesses and shops) to see a large number of people exploring Beauty World Centre. There was even a queue to get out (and in) to the MRT platforms. Perhaps it is an opening-day phenomenon with many curious Singaporeans taking the Sunday to explore a long forgotten area of Bukit Timah. Perhaps it’s a sign that this area can be revitalised like in the 1970s to 80s (as shared by my parents). Time will tell.

And now that it’s relevant, gonna have to hope for zero train disruptions!

Author: swee

A Singaporean student studying in University... making the best of every day (at least try!). Loves running, eating, and sometimes blogging.

Leave a comment